Facebook Experiments With Self-Destruct Posts

Have you ever considered what it’s like to post something on Facebook and have it self-destruct? Soon you will know what it’s like because the social network giant has recently experimented with this kind of service – exactly like Snapchat.

Snapchat is a self-destruct messaging app and has risen to fame since it was first founded in 2011. This growth rate has sent rival services find a way to have similar success. It was rumored that Facebook tried to buy Snapchat for $3 billion but the company, reportedly, turned down the deal.

Not all Facebook users may have heard about Snapchat but the idea of ephemeral posts should pique the interest of the users. Facebook began to try the new feature for the iOS app and allows users to set posts for deletion. You can choose when the post will expire, anywhere between 1 and 7 days.

The new feature is not available to all of its users, though. Facebook said that it’s only available to some of its users. The company is known to run experiments like this and make them initially available only to some people. A Help Page was also put up by the social network that’s dedicated to posting something and setting it to expire. According to the page, the feature is currently rolling out only in some areas.

If the test becomes a success, the company is bound to roll out the expiration feature in more areas, although it’s less likely that Facebook will make it a default setting. The social network giant has always been known for its Timeline that shows everything the user posted, including life events that you would not want to be deleted.

When posts expire, it will be removed from your profile but they will be in stored on the company’s servers for 90 days. After that, the posts will be completely deleted.

People will find the appeal of posts that self-expire as something that they can use. Sometimes, emotions get the best of you and you act out by writing a post about something that upsets you. You can set an expiration date for your post so that the next time you log in to your account, it’s no longer there to remind you about what made you upset. You can also take advantage of the self-destruct posts if you want to upload a photo that you don’t wish to be around after 20 years.

This is not the first attempt on self-destructing posts made by Facebook. In June, the company launched an app called Slingshot, which is a photo-messaging app that requires you to sling back a photo to someone before you can open the photo he or she just sent you. Once sent, messages are deleted from the app and users can also scribble or put texts on their photos. The requirement to send a photo before opening the one you received was recently made optional by Facebook but even then, Slingshot has not caught on to the public.